Oznia, a blog of Israel things


~When Israel Advocacy Is Just One Click Away by ozniablog
October 22, 2008, 6:20 pm
Filed under: opinion | Tags: ,

About a month ago, I received an e-mail from Stand With Us (an Israel Education and Advocacy Organization) recruiting writers for CampusPost, a college campus newspaper and joint collaboration with the Jerusalem Post. Caught off guard, I was a bit confused; why was I, a high school junior, being asked to write for a college newspaper? I was curious, but figured the message was delivered mistakenly and did not actually apply to me; I forwarded it to my college-aged sister and then let the ad archive into my AOL account. A few minutes later, I decided to venture into my “old mail” folder and click on the newspaper’s link, to learn, if nothing else, about what I had recently passed on. I began reading, and was immediately enthralled by the mission and contents of the paper. Written by students for students, Campus Post is a nonpartisan monthly newspaper that works to highlight “the richness of Israel’s diversity” through its innovations, its culture, and its true relationship to the rest of the world. Somewhat hesitantly, I decided to respond to the mass recruitment e-mail and find out if there was some way I could possibly get the paper to be delivered to my high school. I was cheerfully surprised when a response the following day asked me simply for a number, shipping address and contact.

But my delight was only partially attributable to the successful delivery endeavor; what really excited me was the affirmation that the vital first steps to our advocacy efforts are so extraordinarily accessible. We are lucky enough to live in a world where not only the latest news, but the most useful tools for advocacy are literally at our fingertips. Whether we are looking for headlines to present at a meeting for advocates or the most popular music to share with our youth groups, our resources for making Israel reachable here in the US are just a click away. Websites like Haaretz, Jpost and Ynet offer the most current news, complete with opinion-editorials and news video clips. Other sites, like Israel21c, give us a taste of life in Israel, examining the daily cultural achievements of individuals in Israeli society. Fact checkers, like the Israel MFA and the CIA Factbook: Israel are always helpful. Israeli music videos are streaming on YouTube constantly. And of course, there are blogs like Oznia, which succeed in syncing teens with the catchy beat of Israel from a myriad of relatable perspectives.

Whether we are Zionists, advocates, conscious citizens, concerned Jews or some combination, we could not ask for more in staying on target with our homeland. We live in a day and age where our resources exceed mere accessibility; they call out our names, sometimes even crawling into our inboxes. After that, our task is simple: put the pieces together, and make a difference. With this convenience, I find it nearly impossible=2 0to be overcome with anything but confidence in the success of our efforts as activists.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Shay,

Thank you for the kind words! I really appreciated reading this. Please send me an email at Karen.Klein@standwithus.com, because I would love to chat a bit with you!

Thanks again,

Karen Klein
West Coast Campus Coordinator, StandWithUs

Comment by Karen Klein




Leave a Reply

