Oznia, a blog of Israel things


~Typing Israeli style for the lost American by aklionsky
February 13, 2008, 5:23 pm
Filed under: arts/culture | Tags:

I went to a Jewish day school through 8th grade, and had a great teacher who taught me enough Hebrew to carry on a decent conversation.This gave me a unique opportunity to speak in Hebrew with the kids and counselors from Israel that I met at camp, but which posed a dilemma after camp ended: how should I stay in touch with my new friends? Calling Israel is pretty expensive (although check out skype for cheap calls!), and letters take forever. Because I wanted to improve my Hebrew, I didn’t want to send emails in English, which meant I had to find an easy way to type in Hebrew.

Years ago my family had gotten a Hebrew typing program, complete with Hebrew letter stickers to place on the corresponding keys of the keyboard, but they’d been long lost. So after doing a bit of googling, I found this great website, that allowed me to view an on-screen keyboard, and to click on the buttons on the screen in order to type in Hebrew. After typing, which can take a while when you’re first getting used to the orientation of the keys, you can simply copy and paste the text to wherever you want it–a word document, an email, or anything else. And then, once you’ve become accustomed to the orientation of the keys, you can add Hebrew as a language to your computer or download a program, and learn how to type in Hebrew!

Hebrew keyboard layout
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

