Oznia, a blog of Israel things


~Israel and…Facebook? by jpachefsky
February 13, 2008, 5:26 pm
Filed under: arts/culture, politics | Tags:

facebook.jpg

Being your average high school junior, Facebook plays a big part in my life. My Facebook profile is the first thing I check when I wake up in the morning, and the last thing I check at night before I fall asleep. Not to say that I am addicted, but it helps me stay in contact with people who I have met, and my friends all over the United States and Israel. As many “Facebookers” know, within this past year or so, Facebook has added many different applications. Personally, I find about 98% of these applications totally irrelevant and, for lack of a better word, stupid. Among the Bumper Stickers, Graffiti Walls, and the Top Friends boxes, I have finally found some substance in several applications and groups.

According to The Jerusalem Post, Facebook is quickly becoming a tool people are using to protest a cause. The article refers to groups that support Sderot – a small city that is being bombarded with Kassam Rockets from the Gaza Strip. Other groups are being formed daily with new pro-Israel ideas: “I Support Israel in the War Against Terrorism”, “I.D.F – support our brothers”, and “‘The’ Top Ten Reasons why I support Israel” to name a few. These three groups are amazing outlets for information regarding Israel.

Shimon Peres, Israel’s 84 year old President, has tapped into this amazing tool to combat anti-Semitism. According to Ynetnews.com, at a recent youth conference at Yad Vashem (Israel’s Holocaust Museum), Peres gave a speech about how we should never forget the Holocaust and how we need to combat anti-Semitism. When one of the attendees asked how he could get involved, the President responded by saying, “Who here has heard of Facebook? You can fight anti-Semitism using social networks, like Facebook.”

Being the next generation of people to run the world, this is a very important issue. We need to do whatever we can to reverse the effects of anti-Semitism and anti-Israel thoughts, comments, and ideas. Social networks, such as my beloved Facebook, can be an important tool that we can use to help us combat such hardships today, and in the near future.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

